Excursion – Saturday 01/06/2019

  1. Paleogeografic Evolution of the Thermaikos Bay.

    Figure: Paleogeographical evolution of the plain of Thessaloniki during the past 6000 years.


    Figure a: Coastline position in 4000 BC, the Neolithic site of Nea Nikomidieia is located at the edge of a shallow sea gulf; Figure b: Position of the coastline in 2500 BC, the progradation delta of Aliakmon and Axios is clearly marked, a lagoon settles near Nea Nikomideia; Figure c: Position of the coastline in 1600 BC, Lake Loudias occupies the old lagoon; Figure d: Position of the coastline in 500/350 BC, the ancient capital Pella is located on the edge of a lake and is disconnected from the sea; Figure e: Position of the coastline in 100 AD, Pella is connected to the sea by the channel Loudias, mentioned by Strabon; Figure f: Position of the coastline in 300 AD, marked slowing of the delta progradation of the Aliakmon and Axios rivers; Figure g: coastline position and river system assessment, based on travelers’ stories; Figure h: Current position of the coastline, progradation of the Aliakmon and Axios rivers in the western part of the Thermaikos Gulf.
  2. Visit of the Archeological museum of Vergina.It is a site of universal importance. From Thessaloniki it may be advisable to choose to go in small groups via one of the many available proposals. In Vergina we will visit the archaeological museum. It is an extraordinary underground museum organized around the Macedonian royal tombs and an artificial tumulus. In a mysterious atmosphere due to the darkness, showcases emerge where we can admire exceptional masterpieces arisen intact from the past. And we discover, below, the graves themselves in their original location. Sufficient time: 1 hour. The museum is air conditioned and presents no difficulty of access.
  3. Visit of the archeological site of DION.
    Get ready for an extraordinary visit to the home of the ancient gods of Greece. Stunning views, lush forests and an archaeological site to remember are the ingredients of an unforgettable experience. We start in the morning with the departure for Dion, the religious center of the ancient Macedonians dedicated to the worship of Olympian Zeus, located in the footsteps of the famous Mount Olympus, the mythical home of the Gods. At Dion, Alexander the Great offered rich sacrifices to the gods before leaving for his legendary expedition to Asia. Enjoy a visit of the archaeological site. Marvel at the site as well as the incredible views of the mountain and the surrounding forest. We continue towards the traditional village of Litochoro. You will have time to walk through the charming Enipeas Valley, to Olympus on the lower slopes of the mountain, before returning to Thessaloniki.

Excursion, Samedi 01/06/2019

  1.  Evolution paléogéographique du golfe de Thessaloniki ( Commentaire dans le car)
    Figure  : évolution paléogéographique de la plaine de Thessalonique au cours des 6 000 dernières années.


    Figure a : Position du trait de côte en 4000 av. J.-C., le site néolithique de Nea Nikomidieia est situé au bord d’un golfe marin peu profond ; figure b : Position du trait de côte en 2500 av. J.-C., la progradation des deltas de l’Aliakmon et de l’Axios est nettement marquée, une lagune s’installe à proximité de Nea Nikomideia ; figure c : Position du trait de côte en 1600 av. J-C., le lac Loudias occupe l’ancienne lagune ; figure d : Position du trait de côte en 500/350 av. J.-C., l’ancienne capitale Pella est située au bord d’une étendue d’eau saumâtre et est déconnectée de la mer ; figure e : Position du trait de côte en 100 ap. J.-C., Pella est reliée à la mer par le canal Loudias, mentionné par Strabon ; figure f : Position du trait de côte en 300 ap. J.-C., ralentissement marqué de la progradation deltaïque des fleuves Aliakmon et Axios ; figure g : position du trait de côte et évaluation du réseau hydrographique, d’après les récits de voyageurs ; figure h : Position actuelle du trait de côte, progradation des fleuves Aliakmon et Axios dans la partie occidentale du golfe Thermaïque.
  2. Visite au musée archéologique de VERGINA
    C’est un site d ‘importance universelle. De Thessalonique il peut être avisé de choisir de s’y rendre en petit groupe via une des nombreuses propositions disponibles. A Vergina on visite le musée archéologique. C’est un extraordinaire musée souterrain organisé autour des tombes royales macédoniennes et coiffé d’un tumulus artificiel. Dans une ambiance mystérieuse due à la pénombre, émergent des vitrines où l’on peut admirer des chefs d’œuvre exceptionnels surgis intacts du passé. Et l’on découvre, en contrebas, les tombes elles-mêmes dans leur emplacement originel. A voir ou à revoir. Durée suffisante : 1 heure. Le musée est climatisé, il ne présente aucune difficulté d’accès ni de parcours.
  3. Visite au site archéologique de DION
    Préparez-vous pour une visite extraordinaire à la maison des anciens dieux de la Grèce. Une vue imprenable, des forêts luxuriantes et un site archéologique à retenir sont les ingrédients d’une expérience inoubliable. Nous commençons dans la matinée avec le départ pour Dion, le centre religieux des anciens Macédoniens dédié au culte de Zeus Olympien, situé sur les traces du célèbre Mont Olympe, la maison mythique des Dieux. À Dion, Alexandre le Grand a offert de riches sacrifices aux dieux avant de partir pour son expédition légendaire en Asie. Profitez d’une visite du site archéologique. Émerveillez-vous sur le site ainsi que sur les vues incroyables de la montagne et de la forêt qui l’entoure. Nous continuons vers le village traditionnel de Litochoro. Vous aurez du temps  pour  vous promener dans la charmante vallée d’Enipeas, à Olympe sur les pentes basses de la montagne, avant de revenir à Thessaloniki.